Breaking:

I had my SECOND TO LAST (!!!!!) G.A. shift on Thursday.

I’m glad I no longer dread them. (#progress ? yes.)

We caught wind of some interesting news early on in the morning and somehow, breaking the story fell into my lap. (Not complaining.) I called the Boone County Sherriff’s Department to confirm the story and get whatever details I could.

FACT: Covering breaking news is very exciting.

FACT: Having something actually newsworthy to cover on a G.A shift makes you feel good about your work.

I followed the story closely with a few other reporters throughout the day, and as information came in we collaborated on the original story. I didn’t get many more details while I was on duty but I managed to write another little blurb.

It was an exciting (read: busy) day in the newsroom, which always makes for a good shift.

I am glad for the experience.

Leave a Reply

