Downton Abbey Season 3

Well it’s happened. I’ve been sucked into the glorious public television drama known as Downton Abbey, and I can’t complain. Never has my mother been more encouraging of me spending my free time glued to the TV screen than when watching this show. (Honestly, she was the one pushing for me to get caught up.) I finished the “Christmas at Downton Abbey” episode last night, so I am primed and ready to go just in time for the season 3 premiere tonight. There will be THREE HOURS of Downton goodness aired this evening. First, there’s an hour look at Highclere Castle where the show is filmed, followed by the two hour season premiere, which I am SO looking forward to.

*Spoiler alert: If you haven’t seen finished the second season yet, you may not want to read on.

I’m so happy Matthew and Mary have finally realized that they are meant to be. It makes my heart happy. From what I’ve read, the wedding guests descend on the abbey in this episode, and we are introduced to Lady Grantham’s American mother who is played by Shirley MacLaine. We get to watch this for TWO HOURS! It’s going to be great. I’m really looking forward to seeing Lady Sybil too, as I believe she, her pregnant belly and Branson will reappear soon. (Fingers crossed.)

I’ve heard a few rumors about the future of Downton Abbey. 1. Daniel Jonathon (Matthew Crawley) may not be signing on for the fourth season of Downton, which raises many important questions like how could the chemistry between Mary and him ever be removed from the plot?  2. The years may pass and we will get a glimpse at the WWII era, which raises many other questions, but none as serious as the future of my dear Matthew and Mary.

Come 7  CST tonight I will be glued to my seat. Check in later for reactions to this blessed event.

Leave a Reply

